When Good Weasels do Bad Things

Everybody has an off day now and then. It’s just a facet of Life. However, it seems when it’s a bad day in the ‘Werks, things go really bad.

I don’t mean that injuries occur; heck those happen all the time! It’s mostly small stuff like stabbing yourself with a file or stubbing your toes on the bench legs (Remember – Safety First! Always wear shoes in the workshop!) – I’m talking about projects that go bad.

Here’s a good example – I was working on some stuffed animals that I wanted to jazz up with some gears, chain and other odds and ends that accumulate in the ‘Werks. The test run was three items – a starfish, a seahorse and a bear. First off, I couldn’t get in touch with my sewing machine, so I ended up hand stitching on the starfish. After some decorating, Star ended up like this:

All decked out in his salvaged finery, Star Fish is ready for the Industrial Age.

All decked out in his salvaged finery, Star Fish is ready for the Industrial Age.

Sort of predictable, but sometimes you have to work through the obvious to get to the not so obvious.

I’m gathering things for the Seahorse, but all in all he looks pretty good. By that, I mean that he looks like a seahorse.

I'm thinking a monocle and a baldric are definitely in order for   Slim.

I’m thinking a monocle and a baldric are definitely in order for Slim.

So what in creation happened here?

Did I do that?????

Did I do that?????

I just don’t have words for this.

It’s going in the bag of tragedy along with bezels that just would never solder to their back plates, etched pieces that look like Saran wrap, chain links that make no sense and that one amethyst that split in half as I was cutting it. There are other misbegotten lurkers in that bag, but they are all best left undisturbed.

As for work today, I think the best bet is to clean up and make sure there will be lots of coffee for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

