Something old and something new

Sometimes the best part of a project is starting it. It’s exciting to think about all the possibilities, but it is less exciting once you are down to the repetitive part.

I like to do small, repetitious things for the most part, but sometimes I’m not so sure of the end result that I start to lag. Then the project sits on my bench taking up room and silently rebuking me every time I move it so that I can work on something new.

A very good example is the gas mask pendant.

Work in progress.  Going to remain in progress until I cut another billion jump rings

Work in progress. Going to remain in progress until I cut another billion jump rings

All I need to do is finish the chain (which means winding some 18 gauge copper wire and sawing about 100 more jump rings). The problem is that I ‘ve been unsure as to what kind of closure I want to use.

An S clasp seems sort of dumb and lately what I really want to do is a small biohazard symbol as a toggle clasp. I’m pretty close, in my mind, to knowing what that toggle would look like, so I’m ready to get back to doing the jump rings.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on a couple of things, mainly this soldered link chain.

22 gauge copper wire.  individually soldered.

22 gauge copper wire. individually soldered.

That’s 22 gauge copper wire, in case you were thinking “Hmnnn… that looks pretty tiny.” The pattern is a single weave Roman Chain. Most Roman Chain is double weave done with a 2 link base, although I also have a 3 link base chain that I need to make end caps and a closure for. Hmnnn… maybe that should be my next post.

In any case, I’m trying to combine one UFO (Un Finished Object) with a new project to keep me working happily as well as clearing my bench.

If that doesn’t work, maybe I’ll bribe myself with ice cream for each UFO completed.

Leave a Reply

